Track and Field Update

Due to current HSE guidelines and with taking into account the safety of our athletes and officials, West Cork Athletics unfortunately would like to confirm that the Track and Field event scheduled for the 4th April, will not now be held.
The event on the 25th is still scheduled and we will make a decision on that no later than 2 weeks beforehand.
***With the further restrictions in place, the event on the 25th can’t now take place either*

We currently can’t say if any postponed events will be rescheduled or cancelled, it depends on availability of a venue and possible rescheduling of other events. With the current situation its hard to plan.

Stay safe everyone.
West Cork Board will be holding events again soon and the world will seem a brighter place!

Road Races Cancelled

In light of recent developments with covid-19 and bearing in mind the guidance from AAI, West Cork Athletics want to confirm that the road races scheduled for latter this month will not now be taking place.
We will decide on further events closer to the date when more information on the current status will be available.

West Cork T&F Program

Program for West Cork Athletics Track & Field was agreed at the recent AGM.

Dates are Sat 4th April with an 11am start and Sat 25th April with a 11am start.

3km event.This year there will again be a team aspect to the race, so as well as medals for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd placed athletes, there will also be team prizes with scoring using the same criteria as Cross Country. 3 athletes to score, 4 team medals available

Hoping this might encourage some road runners to take a turn on the track and would hope that we see a number of teams involved.

There are some changes in relation to field events for some age groups.
Please note, that Javelin & Discus competition are NOT to be used as a training exercise and athletes taking part in these events are expected to have practiced within their clubs, athletes who are not throwing safely will be removed from the competition.
Relays for u16 and u20 on day 2 will be mixed, which means 2 males and 2 females from the same club.

All athletes competing are required to be registered members of clubs within the West Cork Division, no guests allowed.

West Cork Track & Field Program. Timetable will be available in a few days.

West Cork Road Races 2020

Next West Cork Athletics event is the West Cork Road Races on Sunday 22th March,
Droumleena Lawn (Show grounds) Dunmanway, 11oclock.

This is open to all registered members of West Cork Athletic clubs
Under 9: 500m
Under 11: 1000m
Under 13: Girls 1200m, Boys 1500m
Under 15: Girls 1500m, Boys 2000m
Under 17: Girls 2000m, Boys 3000m
Junior/u20 : 3,000m

1st race of the day will be girls u9 then boys u9, then u11 etc

All athletes have to be registered with clubs in West Cork Division.
Singlets or club t-shirts with club name and colour is required.

Cost to compete: €2, Pay on the day, no need to pre register.

Trophies for 1st, 2nd, 3rd in each race
Medals for all finishers.

The races will start and finish near the entrance to Droumleena Lawn which can be used for parking.

West Cork Events

No major changes in personnel at the recent West Cork Athletics AGM at the Parkway Hotel in Dunmanway.
Bill Allen remains as Chairman, Declan Coakley as Secretary, Patrick McSweeney as Treasurer and Kate Coveney as PRO.
A sub committee was put in place to look at holding a West Cork Awards night next year and the format and criteria for it.
As well as the program for the upcoming Track and Field, dates were also provisionally set for other events for 2020.
Program T&F is available here
Dates are below.

West Cork Road Races, Showgrounds in Dunmanway with an 11 oclock start.
West Cork T&F, CIT Track 4th and 25th April with an 11 oclock start both days.
Summer League Dates:
10th June, Dohneys
24th June, Bandon
8th July, SKibbereen
Cross Country, Venues to be decided and dates to be confirmed. 6th and 13th Sept

Update: Schools XC

Just to confirm.
The West Cork Board will not be holding a Secondary Schools Cross Country in 2020.
This is mainly due to concerns about insurance and hosting of events where participants are not registered members of Athletics Ireland.

Apologies to all schools who have supported this event over the years and have been preparing in anticipant of it being held again in 2020.