Info on West Cork T&F

For information and program for the upcoming West Cork Track & Field Championship please see this page


PRO Report from AGM

West Cork Athletic Division AGM 2018

The West Cork Athletic Association had another successful year in 2017. The first event of the year was the West Cork Road Races on 2nd April on the roads adjacent to Droumleena  Lawn, Dunmanway. It was the third year that the Road Races were held away from the traditional location at Kilbarry Road which was deemed unsuitable due to high traffic volumes. Again  this year, races were for Juveniles only with no Seniors or Masters included. Newly formed Durrus AC were welcomed on their maiden outing with 50 of their athletes competing. Two Track & Field Championships were held at the CIT Track on April 9th and 30th.    

Four Summer Leagues were held hosted by Doheny AC, Clonakilty AC, Bandon AC and Skibbereen AC.   It was Clonakilty AC’s first  time to host a Summer League event and it ran very successfully at the Clonakilty Rugby grounds.                                                                                

The West Cork Cross Country Championships took place in a venue near Ballinadee on September 17th.  This year saw the introduction of a Novice Category. The West Cork Secondary Schools Cross Country Championships took place at the usual venue of Dunmanway Showgrounds but  were pushed out to 16th January 2018 to better line up with the sequence of Scho ol Cross Country Championships.  Four West Cork athletes represented Ireland in December at the European Cross Country Championships in Slovakia at U20 level,  Darragh McElhinney, Bantry AC, Stephanie Cotter, West Muskerry AC, and Laura Nicholson and Fiona Everard ,both Bandon AC.  Phil Healy, Bandon AC represented Ireland at the World Indoor Athletic Championships in Birmingham in early March, reaching the semi finals in 400m, the first Irish female athlete to reach this level in this event.


Kate Coveney PRO 12 March 2018


At the West Cork AGM last night, the program for the upcoming Track & Field Championships was agreed.
Similar to previous years, with just some sprint distances changes to bring us into line with County/Munster distances.
Also, u12 Shot Putt has been changed to a TurboJavelin.

This year the events will be starting at 11am and not the usual 12noon.

Program and preliminary order of events will be on this site during the week.

Next event is the West Cork Road races on Sunday 25th at 12noon.
Start is near Showgrounds in Dunmanway

West Cork Road Races Sunday 25th March

Next West Cork Athletics event is the West Cork Road Races on Sunday 25th March,
Droumleena Lawn (Show grounds) Dunmanway, 12 noon.

This is open to all registered members of West Cork Athletic clubs
Under 9: 500m
Under 11: 1000m
Under 13: Girls 1200m, Boys 1500m
Under 15: Girls 1500m, Boys 2000m
Under 17: Girls 2000m, Boys 3000m
Junior/u20 : 3,000m

1st race of the day will be girls u9 then boys u9, then u11 etc

All athletes have to be registered with clubs in West Cork Division.
Singlets or club t-shirts with club name and colour is required.

Cost to compete: €2, Pay on the day, no need to pre register.

Trophies for 1st, 2nd, 3rd in each race
Medals for all finishers.

The races will start and finish near the entrance to Droumleena Lawn which can be used for parking.

Upcoming dates

West Cork Athletics AGM – Monday 12th March, Parkway Hotel at 9pm.
All clubs are asked to send at least 1 representative.

West Cork Road Races – Sunday 25th March near Showgrounds in Dunmanway at 12noon

West Cork Track & Field Championships – Sun 15th & Sun 29th of April. Both in CIT.
More details to follow

Schools XC Results

West Cork Secondary Schools Cross Country Championships

Tuesday 16th January 2018, Dunmanway – Kate Coveney West Cork Athletics PRO

The 14th West Cork Secondary Schools Cross Country Championships took place at the usual venue, Dunmanway Showgrounds on Tuesday 16th January 2018. The event which is normally held in September was deferred to January to better line up with the South Munster, Munster and All Ireland Schools Cross Country Championships. While conditions were firm enough underfoot, the weather was exceptionally inclement, with freezing temperatures, sleety rain and blustery winds. This did not deter the competitive instinct of the participants ensuring some fine displays of running on the day and exceptional team spirit. The EBS Shield is presented each year to the best overall Girls and Boys teams from their school. The girls from Coláiste Pobail Bantry again retained the title of Best Overall Girls School, bringing the EBS Shield back to Bantry with them and MICC Dunmanway took second place as they did also last year. The position was reversed for the boys with MICC Dunmanway taking the EBS Shield back from last year’s winning teams from The Hamilton High School, who were unable to make it on this occasion. Coláiste Pobail Bantry was placed second with De la Salle, Macroom in third place.

1st Year Girls – 1 Maeve O’Neill, MICC, Dunmanway, 2 Eabha Crowley, Bandon Grammar School, 3 Margaret Collins, MICC, Dunmanway, 4 Eileen Burke, Coláiste Ghobnátan, Ballyvourney, 5 Sally O’Donovan, Coláiste Pobail Bantry, 6 Aine Corish, MICC, Dunmanway
Team – 1 MICC, Dunmanway, 2 Coláiste Pobail Bantry, 3 Coláiste Ghobnátan, Ballyvourney

1st year Boys – 1 Callum McCourt, Bandon Grammar School, 2 Dan Andrews, Coláiste Pobail Bantry, 3 Ciarán O’Sullivan, Coláiste Pobail Bantry, 4 Cillian O’Brien, Coláiste Pobail Bantry 5 Macdara O Conghnaile, Scoil Ghobnatán, Ballyvourney, 6 Alan Kelleher, Coláiste Pobail Bantry

Team- 1 Coláiste Pobail Bantry, 2 Bandon Grammar School, 3 Coláiste Ghobnatán, Ballyvourney.

2nd Year Girls – 1 Jane Buckley, Coláiste no Toirbhirte, Bandon, 2 Nicola Tuthill, Coláiste na Toirbhirte, Bandon, 3 Alanna O’Donovan, Mount St Michael, Rosscarbery, 4 Rebecca Harrington, Coláiste Pobail Bantry, 5 Aisling Stock, Coláiste Pobail Bantry, 6 Aoife O’Neill, Mount St Michael, Rosscarbery

Team – 1 Coláiste Pobail Bantry, 2 Bandon Grammar School

2nd Year Boys – Rory Falvey, Bandon Grammar School, 2 Jeff Williams, Bandon Grammar School, 3 Tiernan Brown, Bandon Grammar School, 4 Angus Seigne, Bandon Grammar School, 5 Darragh McSweeney, St Brogan’s College, Bandon, 6 Daniel McGarvey, Bandon Grammar School

Team – 1 Bandon Grammar School, 2 Coláiste Pobail Bantry,3 MICC Dunmanway

3rd Year Girls – 1 Aisling Barry, 2 Lauren McCourt, 3 Emily Good, all Bandon Grammar School, 4 Edel Hayes, Mount St Michael, Rosscarbery

Team – 1 Bandon Grammar School

3rd Third Year Boys – 1 Ramon Gaspar, De la Salle, Macroom , 2 Laurence Asling, De la Salle, Macroom, 3 Tadhg Manning, De la Salle, Macroom, 4 Aidan Rundel, Coláiste Pobail Bantry 5 Ian O’Flynn, Coláiste Pobail Bantry, 6 Andrew Mc Carthy, MICC Dunmanway

Team – 1 De la Salle, Macroom, 2 MICC Dunmanway, 3 Coláiste Pobail Bantry

4th& 5th Year Girls – Caitlin Hurley, MICC Dunmanway, 2 Sophie Harrington, Coláiste Pobail Bantry, 3 Kate Barry, Coláiste Pobail Bantry, 4 Katie Dineen, Coláiste Pobail Bantry, 5 Eve O’Sullivan, Coláiste Pobail Bantry, 6 Paula Tabanera, Colaiste Pobail Bantry
Team -1 Coláiste Pobail Bantry, 2 MICC Dunmanway

4th & 5th Year Boys – 1 Liam Cotter, Coláiste Pobail Bantry, 2 Ryan Cotter, MICC Dunmanway, 3 Andrew Collins, Mount St Michael, Rosscarbery, 4 Ray Shanahan, Mount St Michael, Rosscarbery, 5 Conor O’Neill, MICC, Dunmanway, 6 Darragh Collins, MICC Dunmanway

Teams – 1 MICC Dunmanway, 2 De la Salle, Macroom

6th Year Boys – 1 Daniel O’Connell, St Brogan’s Bandon

Best Overall Girls School – 1 Coláiste Pobail Bantry, 2 Bandon Grammar School, 3 MICC Dunmanway

Best Overall Boys School -1 MICC, Dunmanway, 2 Coláiste Pobail Bantry, 3 De la Salle, Macroom

Posted in PRO